Copycat Sprinkles Red Velvet Cupcakes w/Cream Cheese Frosting

If you are looking for a go-to red velvet cupcake with an outstanding cream cheese frosting, then please look no further! These red velvet cupcakes are absolutely to-die-for. If you haven’t ever made homemade red velvet cupcakes, then I urge you to  try this! It is so easy and you can’t have just one of these moist bundles of heaven!

On my dad’s way home from work he would drive through my old town of Vista, and in the downtown there is this awesome cupcake shop called Little Cakes. They have the most delicious cupcakes, and the red velvet my dad would bring home inspired me to track down a recipe of my own! So thankfully, I stumbled across the recipe for these when I was looking for red velvet cupcake recipe to make for my mom’s 65th birthday in January. I originally found them on All Recipes, however when I went back later to re-print it I noticed the person who had put it up had removed it and put a link to their blog with the recipe. Thanks to Carrot Top Mom for these fabulous cupcakes, I make them all the time!

Copycat Sprinkles Red Velvet Cupcakes                                                                                                                                                   [click to print]

Makes 24 large, or 30 medium cupcakes (by Carrot Top Mom – www.carrotopmom.com)

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup butter, softened
2 1/4 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup buttermilk (or milk with 2 tsp lemon juice)
1 ounce red food coloring
4 teaspoons Pure Vanilla Extract

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt in medium bowl. Set aside.

Beat butter and sugar in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed 5 minutes or until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Mix in sour cream, milk, food color and vanilla. Gradually beat in flour mixture on low speed until just blended. Do not overbeat. Spoon batter into 24 paper-lined muffin cups, filling each cup 2/3 full.

Bake 18 to 22 minutes or until toothpick inserted into cupcake comes out clean. Gently remove from oven (these are super-moist, and will collapse if you aren’t careful). Cool in pans on wire rack 5 minutes. Remove from pans; cool completely. Frost with Cream Cheese Frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting                                               [click to print]

Makes enough to frost 24 large, or 30 medium cupcakes

Ingredients

1 (8oz.) package cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 tbsp sour cream
2 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
1 (16oz.) box confectioners’ sugar

Method

Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting: Beat cream cheese, softened, butter, sour cream and Pure Vanilla Extract in large bowl until light and fluffy. Scrape bowl, and beat again. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar until smooth.

Frost the cupcakes generously, and enjoy!

Photo Walkthrough:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
First combine your dry ingredients in a medium bowl (flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt).
Beat the butter and sugar on medium speed for 5 minutes or until light and fluffy. Then add your eggs, one at a time.
Next add the buttermilk, sour cream, vanilla, and food coloring. Be careful with the food coloring though, lest you end up like me and have red fingertips for the rest of the day!

It's almost done :)

After all of that’s done it’s time to spoon the batter into the baking cups. Fill the cups 2/3 of the way full. Something new I recently learned from my sister-in-law, use a cookie dough scoop (the ones with the squeeze handles) for putting the batter in the baking cups. It doesn’t make a mess like using a spoon does! Ingenious! A note though! If you think that you will end up filling these more than 2/3 of the way full, be sure to grease the muffin tins beforehand. That way if they end up being oversized, they shouldn’t be too hard to get off.
Now it’s time to put those suckers in the oven. Bake them for 18-22 minutes at 350 degrees F. I put mine in for 18 minutes and they were perfect!
Let them sit for 5 minutes before taking them out of the pan, then let them completely cool before frosting them. Be very careful when removing them, because these cupcakes are super moist, and I mean that (it’s why I love them!). I had a couple cupcakes that had tops that almost came off. They were great “dad testing material” though. “You know, to make sure they’re safe for the grandkids to eat!” Yeah dad…. riiiiiight… LOL

The frosting is really easy, just be sure you soften the butter and cream cheese first. Beat the cream cheese, butter, sour cream, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Then scrape the bowl and beat again. Then gradually add the confectioner’s sugar and bam, you have super delicious frosting!!

There it is! So yummy!

I said it earlier, and I’ll say it again. These cupcakes are AMAZING. So moist and light, and the frosting is just so yummy. I hope you guys enjoy them, and thanks again to Carrot Top Mom for this fabulous recipe!

Please let me know what you think of them if you try them!

<3 Kate

6 responses to “Copycat Sprinkles Red Velvet Cupcakes w/Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Pingback: Kate’s Mom’s Peanut Butter Cookies·

  2. Oh my gosh ! I just made these and are amazing, they are still warm ! Delicious even without the cream cheese icing :) THANKS for the recipe

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked them! But all the credit goes to Carrot Top Mom because the recipe is hers. I just wanted to share it with more people because of how delicious it is! ^_^

      Like

    • I’ve actually never tried it, but I believe you *should* be able to, because it’s similar to an oven, just a ton smaller. You wouldn’t be able to bake them inside a muffin tin though, so you’d need to be sure that the baking cups you use are sturdy enough to hold the batter on their own while in the toaster oven.

      I’m not sure what sort of baking time adjustments you would need to make (if any) to bake the cupcakes in a toaster oven, so I would just watch them like a hawk while they bake and test them with a toothpick to be sure they’re done.

      If you have any more questions though, I would try searching on google. I’m sure there will be an answer for you somewhere on there :)

      I hope I helped!

      <3 and harp strings,
      Kate

      Like

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

