Carol’s Favorite Cookies

I may be slightly biased towards these cookies because I grew up with them, but they are simply amazing! If you don’t believe me, I urge you to try them for yourself. They are a simple cookie with melted milk chocolate spread on top. Whenever I’m in the mood for something homemade and delicious that takes no time at all, this is what I make.

My grandma would make these cookies for my mom when she was little, and my mom would do that for my family. When I first made these on my own after my mom passed away, the smell (and taste of course! hehe) of the dough brought back memories of me helping her make these cookies when I was growing up.

I hope you enjoy these cookies as much as my family does, and maybe you can start your own memories with your family with them!

♥ Kate

Carol’s Favorite Cookies                                                  [click to print]
Makes about 24 (family recipe)

Ingredients

1 cup shortening
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 pkg milk chocolate chips

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix the shortening, brown sugar, and vanilla; add egg. Then add in the flour gradually. Spread into a 13×9 pan. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

While cookie cools, melt chocolate chips in a double boiler. Spread onto cookie after it is done baking. Cut and enjoy when chocolate has set.

Photo Walkthrough:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

NOTE: The following pictures will show ingredients for doubled cookies.

Everything you need: 1 cup shortening, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 egg, 2 cups flour, 1 pkg milk chocolate chips. I had to make enough cookies for 11 thank you bags worth, so once again I had to double this recipe. So everything I have in the picture is doubled.
Add your shortening, sugar, and vanilla.
…and combine.
Then add your egg…
…and combine, again. See? What did I say. Easysauce. This is what it should look like.
Next is the flour. Add it gradually so you don’t end up with flour all over your kitchen! I’ve been there and done that… not so much fun to clean up!
Be sure to scrape the sides of your bowl in between adding the flour. After all the flour has been combined, that’s it! The dough is complete :)
All that’s left is spreading it into your 13×9 pan. Stoneware works great for these, but if you only have metal be sure to grease it first. I used Pam for baking on the metal pan.
Have fun spreading out the dough, I sure did! Yeah… maybe not. I kind of got frustrated at it because I was so tired, but yeah… anyways! Moving on!
Once both are spread out and even, put them in the oven until golden brown. The metal pan took about 15 minutes to bake, and the stoneware took about 18 minutes.
While the cookie is cooling, melt your chocolate chips in a double boiler.
Yummy melted chocolate! Aka a girl’s best friend <3
Pour the melted chocolate on top of the cooled cookie.
Spread the chocolate out until it’s even all over the cookie.

After the chocolate is on the cookie, let it set. Then you can cut them and enjoy my momma’s favorite cookie!

That’s all there is to it. It’s such a yummy simple cookie. I hope you enjoy them as much as my mom did!

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

