Fallen Soufflé Chocolate Torte

This cake was one of the first cakes I’ve ever made from scratch. I got an itch one day to make some kind of cake, so I started looking through my mom’s baking book, A Passion for Baking. It’s filled with all sorts of yummy recipes, but as I was flipping through it I stumbled upon this recipe and fell in love.

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love truffles. My favorite though is the Extra-Dark Chocolate Truffle (that I’ve only been able to find at Godiva, and of course we don’t have a Godiva nearby *pouts*). When I read the quote that was under the picture I knew that this was the cake I was going to make. It said “Digging into this cake is the closest you will come to eating a truffle with a fork” and BOY was she right!! Top this sucker with some cool whip and sliced strawberries (or pureed raspberries) and I can guarantee that you will be in heaven.

Fallen Soufflé Chocolate Torte            [click to print]

Serves 6 to 8 (from ‘A Passion for Baking’ by Marcy Goldman)

Ingredients

8 oz semisweet chocolate
1 cup unsalted butter
8 egg whites
1/8 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar, divided
6 egg yolks

Method

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line bottom of a 9 inch springform pan with parchment paper and generously spray parchment and inner sides of pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In a double boiler set over low heat, melt the semisweet chocolate and butter. Set aside to cool.

In a mixer bowl, using whisk attachment on low speed, whisk egg whites with salt until they foam a bit. Then increase to high speed and dust in 1/4 cup sugar until fluffy and stiff. Transfer to a large bowl.

In mixer bowl, whisk egg yolks and remaining 1/2 cup sugar until very pale. Stir in melted chocolate-butter mixture. Fold in some egg whites to lighten chocolate and whisk very thoroughly. Gently fold in remaining egg whites in batches, showing more restraint and calmness so as to have a light, chocolaty batter.

Spoon batter into prepared pan. Bake about 35 to 45 minutes until barely set and still a bit wobbly. If you test your cake at this point with a toothpick, it will come out with bits of batter on it–that is fine. Take cake out and, after 15 minutes, unmold onto a serving plate.

When cool, dust generously with cocoa powder or serve each piece with some chopped strawberries and a dollop of whipped cream.

Photo Walkthrough:

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.

For this recipe you’ll need 8oz semisweet chocolate, 1 cup unsalted butter, 8 egg whites, 1/8 tsp salt, 3/4 cup sugar divided, 6 egg yolks. The cocoa powder and strawberries are for serving the cake.
Line a 9-inch springform pan with parchment paper and grease it generously.
In a double boiler over low heat, add your semisweet chocolate and butter. Once it’s melted, set it aside to cool.
While it melts start separating your eggs.
You need 6 egg yolks…
…and 8 egg whites.
The chocolate can take a little bit to melt. But stir it around a bit with a spatula to help move things along.
While you’re still waiting on that dang chocolate to melt, add your egg whites and salt to a mixer and beat on low until it starts to foam a little.
Increase the speed to high and dust in your 1/4 cup of sugar and continue to whisk until fluffy and stiff.
Transfer the egg whites to a large bowl, but be sure to not use the size bowl I used! I was in such a hurry that I wasn’t thinking straight and just grabbed a bowl. By the time I realized that it was too small, it was too late so I just went with it lol Yay for an overflowing bowl of egg whites!
I believe the recipe wants you to use the same mixer bowl to whisk together the egg yolks and the remainder of the sugar, but I was very pressed for time and didn’t feel like rewashing the bowl so I did it by hand.
Whisk the egg yolks and sugar until very pale.
Then add the melted chocolate-butter mixture to it and combine thoroughly.
Fold in a little bit of the egg whites to lighten the chocolate, then mix thoroughly. Then gently fold in the remaining egg whites. As you can tell, I used my handy-dandy whisk! I never really learned how to properly "fold" ingredients, so I just added the egg whites and whisked as gently as I felt I had time to spare. But to be honest I'm not sure what difference it makes because I've made this cake many times without "folding" the egg whites in and it still turned out great!
Fold in a little bit of the egg whites to lighten the chocolate, then mix thoroughly. Then gently fold in the remaining egg whites. As you can tell, I used my handy-dandy whisk! I never really learned how to properly “fold” ingredients, so I just added the egg whites and whisked as gently as I felt I had time to spare. But to be honest I’m not sure what difference it makes because I’ve made this cake many times without “folding” the egg whites in and it still turned out great!
Spoon the batter into the springform pan and put in the oven for 35 to 45 minutes.
When it’s done baking, it should be barely set and still a bit wobbly. When you go to test your cake, it’s alright if your cake tester comes out with some batter on it, that’s totally fine.
When the cake has finished cooling, dust it with cocoa powder and serve with coolwhip…

...and some strawberries :P

I hope you enjoy this recipe! It is one of my favorites!

♥ Kate

3 responses to “Fallen Soufflé Chocolate Torte

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

