Traditional Mashed Potatoes

I’m sure most of you already have your way of making the perfect mashed potatoes, but I wanted to share how I make mine! Yes, this is yet another recipe from AllRecipes. One night I was trying my hardest to remember what mom had put into her mashed potatoes to make them so yummy, but I couldn’t remember if it had been milk, or sour cream. And I certainly couldn’t remember how much of whatever it was she had added! I was looking for the easy way out, and thankfully I didn’t even have to get on my computer to get my answer (yay for smartphones!). After adding what the recipe said, I discovered that these were the creamiest, yummiest mashed potatoes I had ever had (sorry mom!).

This recipe is so versatile that you can substitute red potatoes for the russet, and probably just about any potato you’d want to make mashed (although I’d avoid using sweet potatoes in this recipe :P). You can also leave the skins on the potatoes, or peel them. They taste great either way!

If your mashed potatoes don’t come out as creamy as you want, you can always double the milk and butter. Yeah… I know. It makes it terribly unhealthy, but I say to you, so what?! If it makes them taste better, then go for it!

So here they are for you now, please enjoy!!

Traditional Mashed Potatoes                                     [click to print]

Serves 6 (from www.allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

6 medium russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1/2 cup warm milk
1/4 cup butter or margarine
3/4 tsp salt
dash of pepper

Method

Place potatoes in a saucepan and cover with water. Cover and bring to a boil; cook for 20-25 minutes or until very tender. Drain well. Add milk, butter, salt and pepper; mash until light and fluffy. Enjoy!!

Photo Walkthrough:

This is everything you’ll need for the potatoes, minus the salt and pepper.
Add the potatoes to a pot of water, put the lid on and bring to a rolling boil. Once they are boiling, set your timer for 20 minutes. Be sure you are keeping an eye on the water level in the pot, if it’s getting too high lower the temperature so it doesn’t boil over!!
After it’s been 20 minutes, use a fork to check the tenderness of the potatoes. If they aren’t done yet boil them for another 5 minutes and they should be. Once done, drain the potatoes and add back into the pot you used to boil them (the heat will evaporate any water that wanted to hang out :P).
Add your warm milk, butter, salt and pepper and get to mashing!

Serve with anything tasty and delicious. I use these potatoes in many recipes, but my favorites are Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms and Garlic Chicken (haven’t blogged it yet, but it’s on my list!!).

♥ Kate

3 responses to “Traditional Mashed Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms « Passion for Life·

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

