Angel Food Cake Frosting

So, in my Easter Sunday post I mentioned how passionately in love I am with Angel Food cake. If you missed it, you should maybe go check it out to fully understand my love of Angel Food cake!

Or maybe I could just explain it here. Yeah, I guess I could do that.

It all started many birthdays ago (although in retrospect it’s not that many birthdays ago, I mean I am only 21!) when my mom made me an Angel Food cake on my birthday. Okay, I can’t actually remember when she started doing this… I just remember that any birthday I had she would make me two cakes. Why two cakes you ask? It’s quite simple really. I’m a pig when it comes to Angel Food cake, and no I’m not afraid to admit it! I will go back for seconds, thirds, fourths, probably even fifths if there is enough cake! No, I didn’t say enough cake for everyone, just enough for me. :)

Anyways, this started a tradition for my birthdays where mom would make a cake for the family, and one for me to gorge myself with (and yes, I happily did, thank-you-very-much!). However, there is a very important thing I haven’t mentioned regarding Angel Food cake. As much as I absolutely love it, I CANNOT STAND IT if there is NO frosting. The frosting makes the cake for me, so if there isn’t any, I won’t touch it with a 10-foot pole. Okay, I’ll probably serve some up for someone, but I seriously won’t eat it. It’s not Angel Food cake without frosting. Seriously.

It wasn’t just my birthday that we would eat Angel Food cake (although it really seemed like it was the only time of year I ever got it!), we’d eat it for Easter too. Even though mom wasn’t able to be with us on Easter (although I think she was in spirit), we didn’t let that stop the Angel Food cake tradition. I sent TJ out to the store to get boxed mix (OMG BOX MIX?!?! NO WAI?! Yes, I said boxed mix. It is so much simpler than home-made, at least according to my mom and my mom’s-mom. Their cakes always fell. And boxed Angel Food cake still tastes amazing. So back off. ♥) however, he ran into a snafoo. Apparently my family isn’t the only ones who do Angel Food cake on Easter.

This was news to me. And I seriously wondered if someone had sent memo’s out to everyone and their dog that TJ was heading to Stater Bros. to buy 2 boxes of Angel Food cake mix, because when he got there, they were completely and utterly OUT. As in none at all in the store. He drove a mile in the opposite direction (past our house) to go to Albertsons where he met the same dilemma. Thankfully, grocery stores in my town are kind of like Walgreens and Starbucks, they like to be across the street from each other, so he drove across the street to Vons (his 3rd grocery store visit this trip, just in case you lost count) and voila! he found 2 boxes. He snatched those suckers up like they were the winning lottery ticket for the Mega Million and came home.

I guess you can say that TJ saved the day with the cakes on Easter, because well, he did go out the day before Easter to get the mixes for me, since I was seriously lagging in that department lol Without TJ risking his life place to sleep for the night dinner, we would have been short a very tasty dessert for Easter. Thanks TJ, we appreciate it!

And without further ado, the recipe for the frosting! I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!!!

♥ Kate

Angel Food Cake Frosting                    [click to print]

Frosts 1 Cake (family recipe)

Ingredients

powdered sugar
1/4 cup – 1/3 cup butter, softened
pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla
milk
cake crumbs from cake pan

 

Method

Add about 1 cup of powdered sugar to your mixer bowl, then add your pinch of salt, and softened butter. Combine. Add the vanilla and combine again. Then add milk until you gain the desired consistency. If the frosting becomes too runny, add more powdered sugar. If it becomes too thick, add more milk. You want the frosting to be runny enough so that it’s easy to frost with and will sort of run down the sides of the cake when frosting.

Once the frosting reaches the desired consistency, stir in the cake crumbs and frost your cake. Enjoy!

Photo Walkthrough:

I want to start this walkthrough by apologizing. I was in such a hurry that I didn’t get a chance to take pictures of the frosting process because I was on the phone to my grandma making sure I was doing it alright, and trying my hardest not to be late for Easter dinner at Carrie’s house. However, I do have photos for the Angel Food cake process. Ya know, in case people can’t read the instructions on the box. Or if they just prefer to look at pictures like I do.

I promise I will post a real photo walkthrough for the frosting once I get some pictures. Maybe I’ll even keep the walkthrough for the box mix too? Maybe.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Everything you'll need for the cake mixes. Yes, I know, I'm astounded by the complexity of ingredients required too!

Step 1:Add the mix to your bowl. Step 2: Add the water to the mix. Step 3: beat on low speed for 30 seconds. Step 3.5: Beat on medium speed for 1 minute.

Step 4: Pour batter into UNGREASED pan. Let me reiterate... DO. NOT. SPRAY. THE. PAN. Thanks :)

Bake in the oven for 40 minutes. Be sure that you take out the extra rack from your oven and that the remaining rack is in the lowest position.

When the cake is done, immediately turn upside down onto a glass bottle of some kind and cool completely.

Once the cake is cool, take off the glass bottle and flip over. Take a butter knife to the edges of the cake (don't forget the center) to loosen it. Place cake on a plate.

Here's everything you need for the frosting. Powdered Sugar, butter, salt, vanilla, milk, and crumbs leftover in the pans from the cakes. The food coloring is optional. Mom never used it for my birthday cakes, but I thought it'd make the cakes look really pretty for Easter.

Here’s the part I was apologizing earlier for! Lack of pictures :( But I do have the steps explained in case you need some clarification since the recipe is, for the most part, lacking measurements.

You start off with shaking roughly 1/2 a box of powdered sugar into your mixing bowl, add a pinch of salt, then add anywhere from 1/4 cup to a 1/3 of a cup of softened butter to the sugar and combine it.

Next you add 1 tsp of vanilla and combine.

Then start adding your milk. I started off with about 1/4 cup of milk, but as I said, you’ll just have to play with it a little.

You don’t want it to be too thick, but you don’t want it to be too runny. Basically, you’re looking for something like a glaze. You want it runny enough to easily cover the cake when you ice it though. So if it looks like it’s getting to thick, add some more milk. If it looks too runny, add some more powdered sugar.

Once it’s at the correct consistency, add in your cake crumbs and then ice the cake!

Don't forget to serve with fresh cut strawberries and cool whip.

6 responses to “Angel Food Cake Frosting

  1. Pingback: Easter Sunday « Passion for Life·

  2. Hi Kate!

    I found you through a comment on cupcake project! Like you, I’m a young blogger (I’m 15). Anyway, those angel food cakes look nice. I’ve made angel food cake before, and what makes it so weird is that you have to turn it upside down to let it cool! Have you ever made angel food cake from scratch? My blog is http://softandstiffpeaks.blogspot.com/ If you could check it out, I’d appreciate it!

    Amanda

    Like

  3. Hi Amanda! :)

    I’m so glad that you found my blog! I’m a little behind at the moment with it as I’ve been distracted by a video game (darn you World of Warcraft!!), but I can’t wait to get back to it.

    I haven’t ever made Angel Food Cake from scratch, but my mom and grandma did and said it was such a pain (they always had their cakes collapsing on them). They both agreed that (for them anyway) it was just easier to do the box mix since they never fell and they couldn’t taste the difference. Since Angel Food Cake is my favorite cake, I am definitely going to have to attempt to make it from scratch at some point so I can compare it for myself.

    I will definitely go check out your blog and subscribe! Hope you subscribe to my blog as well! I’d appreciate any comments you have as well!

    ♥ Kate

    Like

  4. Pingback: Farmers Market Trip « Passion for Life·

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

