Easter Sunday

I know it’s been a while since I last blogged. After TJ and I got back home from my sister’s house the last time I just wanted to play some video games. So other than practicing harp and things around the house, it’s what I’ve been primarily up to. I hadn’t been in World of Warcraft recently, and well… I missed all of my online friends and just needed to veg/be a nerd! It felt pretty good. :)

Let’s see, what all has happened since my last blog post? Oh! Easter of course, and I went down to San Diego with TJ because he was taking the test for the San Diego PD, then he had his 25th birthday, and my brother-in-law graduated with his Master’s degree from USD!

Since I didn’t put up a blog for Easter, I’m going to share some of our pics from it here. Enjoy!

My super cute nephews! They looked so dashing, and are so ready to be models! :P

Me, my daddy, and my oldest sister.

Myself and my sister.

TJ and I. It might not look like we completely matched, but the turquoise bows I had in my hair totally went with his turquoise shirt!

Me giving my best America’s Next Top Model look (I’m smizing!) while sporting the latest Easter fashion. In case you haven’t heard what that is, it’s wearing the ham netting on your head! What can I say, I’m a ham. XD

We also made sure we visited momma. Her Easter bouquet was gorgeous. I miss you momma. ♥

Our Easter dinner was so yummy! My sister hosted it at her house this year. Momma usually had it, but well… yeah… But my sister did a fabulous job. We had a great ham, scalloped potatoes, and a bunch of other yummy things that I can’t remember right now because it’s been a month since Easter lol We needed dessert though, so I made two Angel Food Cakes. Which, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned, are MY FAVORITE CAKE OF ALL TIME. Hands down. Well, let me be specific. Angel Food cake is my favorite cake of all time hands down IF it has my mom’s frosting, which mine did. Well, sort of. I forgot to ask mom how she did her frosting before she passed, so I used my grandma’s recipe. BUT it tasted just as good, so Angel Food cake is STILL my favorite cake of all time. Thanks grandma for saving the day! All the way from Nebraska even! What can I say? My grandma’s awesome like that.

Anyways, moving on! Slightly off topic, but I did mention that my brother-in-law graduate from college with his Masters! So, I need to share a picture of him so he knows how proud I am! Because, you know, being featured on my itty-bitty blog is such a big thing XD

My sister and her hubby at his graduation. Congrats on your Masters!! I am so proud of you!!

There, now it’s official. Will this bring you internet-fame? Probably not. But, if someone reads this they will know how awesome you are! w00tw00t!

So, that’s pretty much everything that’s happened since my last post. Which brings me to today. Today was kinda sucky to be honest. I know sucky isn’t a word, but it expresses how I felt today. TJ and I went to see Thor in 3D which was really fun. I really liked it, and let me tell you, even if you’re not into the whole comic-book thing, the guy who played Thor totally makes the movie worth it. He is so hot. I’m just saying. After that though is when the day got sucky. We had gotten a free small popcorn which was nice, but unfortunately it leaked butter all over the crotch of my pants. And I had no idea. At all. I didn’t even notice until I was in the bathroom. I just about died because it looked like I had an accident. Talk about embarrassing!

When we got home I ended up having the starts of a migraine, which has decided it still wants to hang around, and I really wish that it wouldn’t. If anyone is interested in a migraine, just let me know. I’ll send it your way in no time flat! I don’t mind sharing, promise! TJ put my jeans in the wash to try to get the butter stain out, and I changed into some pj shorts, only to find out I even got butter on the top of my brand new white shirt. It’s not huge, just 3 small drops. But still, how did I manage that? *sigh* Oh, and I forgot to mention that I’m a little stressed about summer school. I can sign up for classes starting June 9th @ 6pm, but I’m worried that everything I want will be filled by then… like the baking class I want to take! It only has 7 spots left, and it’s only May 27th! Needless to day, I decided I needed something sweet, and something I loved that I could eat and eat and eat and be very happy. So what did I make? Yup, you guessed it. Angel Food cake. Seeing a trend here about it being my favorite cake?

I will admit it, I used cake mixes. But they are so easy and quick, and taste great! I remember my mom and gram telling me how scratch Angel Food Cakes weren’t worth it for them because they almost always collapsed. I haven’t personally tried making one yet, but it is on my to-do list! But for quick and yummy cake, a box mix tastes just fine.

I can’t wait to enjoy my Angel Food cake. It’s sitting downstairs on my Worcestershire sauce bottle cooling. I’ll make the frosting for it tomorrow after my raid in World of Warcraft tomorrow morning. I know I can’t wait to eat it!

♥ Kate

4 responses to “Easter Sunday

  1. Easter Sunday was great, but sad because we were missing a very important part of our lives. This was the 1st Easter without my wife and kids’ mother. We missed her, but had a good time like she would have.

    Carol would have loved Katie’s “Ham Net Hat”. She might have even tried it on. Don’t let Maeve near it, she loves all kinds of hats. Erin???

    Like

  2. Pingback: Angel Food Cake Frosting « Passion for Life·

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

