Savory Sundays: Cottage Pie

Welcome to my first every Savory Sundays post! This will be a great way for me to really force myself to try new things and you all will *hopefully* be benefiting from it!! :D

Speaking of benefiting, you are about to learn 2 things.

I’m a college student, so I do lots of learning at school, so I’d like to share some knowledge with you.

However, neither of these things were learned at school.

First, Cottage Pie is simply Shepard’s Pie, but with beef instead of lamb.

Did you know that? Because I didn’t before I stumbled across this entry about a super delicious Cottage Pie recipe over at Tasty Kitchen.

Now you’ve learned one thing. Time for the second thing.

Last night could have EASILY been another Dinner Disaster entry… =3 Thankfully my Dad was there to save me from that fate!

So, here’s what happened.

I am in the new house.

The new house has a gas oven.

I’ve only ever used electric ovens before, but so far I’ve managed to make vanilla cupcakes, red velvet cupcakes, and chocolate chip muffins without any problems (other than the fact that my oven is 20 degrees lower than it should be…).

I prepared the Cottage Pie and put it in the oven to bake.

After it was done, I needed to broil it.

No problem! I thought.

It took me a few minutes to figure out how to get it on, but I turned it on.

Thankfully I was complaining about it to my Dad, because he then mentioned that the drawer on the bottom of a gas oven is typically the broiler drawer.

I assured him that this wasn’t the case because I’ve only ever seen them used for storage!

WRONG.

Good thing Dad had me check to see if there was a heating element at the top of the oven (there wasn’t).

So I quickly opened up the drawer underneath the oven to see that the fire from the heating element in the broiler was casting an orange glow on everything in there.

And no, the orange glow was not because Halloween is getting ever closer!

The wooden handle of my dad’s grill fork that I had decided to store down there was black (it had previously been a nice brown).

That wasn’t the only thing stored down there however. The previous renters had stored parts of the oven and some paper (that was stuck between some metal thankfully) down there as well.

I pulled everything out (after finally remembering to turn off the damn broiler), and set it on the top of the stove because we are currently lacking counterspace as we unpack.

After thinking about all of the terrible things that could have happened had Dad NOT been there to tell me to check and see if the drawer down there was the broiler drawer, I went to put the Cottage pie in the broiler drawer.

That’s where I read what was on the metal bottom of said drawer.

It says, and I quote, “NOT FOR STORAGE”.

Hmm.

Good to know oven.

Good to know.

So, with that, I bring you Cottage Pie.

I risked life and limb for this meal.

And let me tell you, it tasted like victory.

I hope you all enjoy!!

♥ Kate

Cottage Pie                                                                                       [click to print]

Serves 8 (adapted from The Culinary Chronicles on www.tastykitchen.com)

Ingredients

1 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 cups yellow onion, diced
1/4 celery, diced
1/2 tbsp garlic, pressed
1lb. lean ground beef
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp fresh thyme
16oz. bag frozen vegetables (peas, carrots, corn, etc.)
2 packets Brown Gravy Mix
6-7 servings of Potato Buds
3 tbsp Parmesan cheese, finely grated
salt and pepper, to taste

Method

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. In a large skillet, heat oil. Add onions, celery, and garlic and cook over medium heat until they are translucent but not browned — approx. 5-6 minutes. Remove to a clean dish.
3. In the same skillet, add the ground beef and cook until browned.
4. Prepare the brown gravy mixes while the beef browns.
5. Drain the fat/grease from the skillet after the beef is browned, and return to heat.
6. Add the onions, celery, and garlic mixture back to skillet and stir well.
7. Add the worcestershire sauce and thyme and cook for an additional minute.
8. Add frozen vegetables and gravy and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
9. Prepare the mashed potatoes according to the directions on the box.
10. Pour the ground beef/vegetable mixture into the dish and spread evenly.
11. Spoon the mashed potatoes on top (a cookie dough scoop works great for this) and carefully spread to create an even layer.
12. Sprinkle parmesan cheese all over the top and place the dish in the preheated oven.
13. Bake for 25-30 minutes.
14. Then turn the oven broiler on and brown the top of the Shepherd’s Pie until it turns an even golden brown color.
15. Remove from the oven and allow to set for 5-10 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

Photo Walkthrough:

Everything you will need for this recipe.

In a large skillet, heat oil. Add onions, celery, and garlic and cook over medium heat until they are translucent but not browned — approx. 5-6 minutes. Remove to a clean dish.

In the same skillet, add the ground beef and cook until browned. Drain the fat/grease from the skillet after the beef is browned, and return to heat.

Prepare the brown gravy mixes while the beef browns.

Add the onions, celery, and garlic mixture back to skillet and stir well.

Add the worcestershire sauce and thyme and cook for an additional minute.

Add frozen vegetables and gravy and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Prepare the mashed potatoes according to the directions on the box.

Pour the ground beef/vegetable mixture into the dish and spread evenly.

Spoon the mashed potatoes on top (a cookie dough scoop works great for this) and carefully spread to create an even layer.

Sprinkle parmesan cheese all over the top and place the dish in the preheated oven. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Then turn the oven broiler on and brown the top of the Shepherd’s Pie until it turns an even golden brown color.

Remove from the oven and allow to set for 5-10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Savory Sundays: Cottage Pie

  1. I agree… ovens are sooo weird… I still haven’t figured out if mine’s really for storage or for broiling… I think it’s for storage though, since nothing in the drawer’s got burnt yet :D

    Amanda
    softandstiffpeaks.blogspot.com

    Like

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

