Getting Ready for Turkey Day

As a lot of you may know, Thanksgiving is tomorrow here in the U.S., which means spending time with family, lots of cooking/baking, and of course lots and lots of eating! Tonight I am picking TJ up from the airport because he’s flying home to spend Thanksgiving with me and my family. He knows how hard tomorrow is going to be on me, and even though he’s in the middle of learning how hard it is trying to live on your own and pay bills, he made sure he had money set aside so he could be there for me tomorrow.

Thanksgiving 2008

He and I will be spending Thanksgiving at my oldest sister’s house, and I have a lot of things to get ready before we head to her home tomorrow afternoon. On my list of things to bake are:

So far I have prepared the Pumpkin Pie Spice to use in the Pumpkin Pie Cookie Dough Truffle Pops. Looking at my list that I have to have ready to go by 1:30PM tomorrow… I have a LOT of work to do! My last class before my 4 day Thanksgiving weekend ends at 3:20PM, then I have to drive to my sister’s house to pick up the deviled egg container, then hit the grocery store to pick up some unsalted butter, vinegar (we have a ton of it somewhere, but I don’t have time to search through the boxes in the garage to try to find it), and buttermilk (Target apparently doesn’t sell Buttermilk… only milk/soy products as far as I could tell!). Then I finally get to come back home so I can hop in the shower and get started on the Truffle Pops before I leave for the airport at 9PM to pick up TJ at 10:30PM.

*sighs*

I know getting all of this done in time for tomorrow might seem a tad crazy, but 1) I need something to keep my mind occupied tomorrow so I’m not focusing on mom not being there, and 2) I want everything to be as close to tradition as possible. So if that means I end up killing myself before dinner trying to make sure we have deviled eggs and mom’s dinner rolls in addition to the new things I am bringing, then so be it.

Man, tomorrow is going to be tough.

But Christmas will be harder.

Thanksgiving 2008

Thanksgiving (to me anyway) is about being thankful for your family, and about tradition.

This year may not be going exactly to tradition (my brother and his fiance are doing their own Thanksgiving, my dad is out in El Paso with my other sister and her family, and mom isn’t here), but it is still reminding me to be thankful for what I do have.

I may miss my mom a lot during the holidays, but she reminds me that family is a precious thing, and it can be gone in the blink of an eye.

Some of you may have to put up with annoying relatives during the holidays (think Christmas Vacation lol), but be thankful that they’re there. Appreciate them while you still can, and make memories… because those memories will be the things you hold onto when they are gone.

 

Since I have gotten the Pumpkin Pie Spice blend done, I wanted to share the recipe with you as well as the (very simple) Photo Walkthrough before I get back to my Thanksgiving preperations. If any of you are like me, you won’t be making your pie for Thanksgiving desert until tomorrow, so maybe you will have to make use of this recipe! If not, well, you can still enjoy yummy Fall recipes for a bit before it’s time to really start Christmas baking! :P

 

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving! For those of you reading this that either will not be celebrating Thanksgiving, or don’t, I hope you all have a fabulous weekend :)

 

♥ and harp strings,

Kate

 

P.S. Keep an eye out in the coming week for entries about the things I am baking for tomorrow! ;)

 

Pumpkin Pie Spice Blend                                         [click to print]

Makes about 5 tablespoons (recipe by Jamie at My Baking Addiction)

Ingredients

3 tablespoons ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons ground ginger
2 teaspoons nutmeg
1 ½ teaspoons ground allspice
1 ½ teaspoons ground cloves

Method

1. Combine spices in a small bow, mix well to combine. Store in a small jar or spice container.

 

Photo Walkthrough:

Everything you will need for this recipe.

1. Add 3 tbsp of the ground cinnamon. 2. Add 2 tsp of the ground ginger. 3. Add 2 tsp of the nutmeg. 4. Add 1½ tsp of the ground allspice. 5. Add 1½ tsp of the ground cloves. 6. Blend the spices together.

Take your container for the spice blend and add a funnel (if need be). Pour the spice blend into the funnel and fill your container. Enjoy your homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice!

4 responses to “Getting Ready for Turkey Day

  1. Good luck with all the preparations! Can’t wait to see how those desserts turn out! They will be fantastic, I,m sure!
    Thanks for the reminder about loving and appreciating family. :) Love you.

    Like

    • Thanks Holland! Oh my gosh, me too!! *crosses fingers* My brother-in-law is jazzed about the Apple & Buttermilk Pie (he LOVES Buttermilk Pie), and my sisters can’t wait to see how the truffle pops turn out.

      I know all of this is going to be a ton of work, but it will be keeping my mind occupied during the day. Plus, I can’t wait to see how everything goes over at dinner.

      It’s my pleasure hun. You are so lucky to still have your mom around. Give her a squeeze from me next time you see her, k?

      ♥ and harp strings,
      Kate

      Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Kate! I hope you and your family surround each other in love today. Thank you for linking my Apple Buttermilk Pie. It’s really good, and if you’re too busy to make it for T-day, it would be good at Christmas too. :)

    Like

    • Happy Thanksgiving Heather! Today is going to be one of the hardest for us as a family yet, but we will (for the most part) be together today. It’s my pleasure to link to your fabulous recipe! My brother-in-law absolutely LOVES Buttermilk pie, so he is really excited about your version :)

      That’s a good idea to make it for Christmas too, but I think my brother-in-law would have my head if I didn’t bring it over this afternoon :P

      I hope you and your family have a lovely Thanksgiving Heather!

      ♥ and harp strings,
      Kate

      Like

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

