Hot Roast Beef Sandwiches

Have you ever woken up in the morning and realized you were having one hell of a strange dream? I have, in fact, I did this morning. I think my weird dream was partly due to how much Star Wars: The Old Republic I’ve been playing the past few days, and the rest is due to my vivid and wild imagination… lol Bear with me if you don’t know much about Star Wars.

So basically I was following TJ around in a dream as he was trying to find information about targets he had to kill {remember, he’s a Bounty Hunter in SWTOR, so he was having to hunt down people and kill them in the game}. So I followed him to this giant aquarium thing that was above ground. The aquarium thing had pretty much everything the ocean would have, but it was on land… and it was freaking huge. Like, seriously huge. He ended up going inside the tank, but we had to be very careful because there was a shark inside. But, not just any shark. This shark was 5x larger than a Blue Whale. Maybe even bigger. We had to swim around and look for what he was after, but quickly get up to the top of the water and onto some rocks before the shark came near us so we wouldn’t get eaten.

Bizarre, right? Sad thing is, that’s not even in the top 10 of my “weirdest dreams” I’ve ever had list. {no, I don’t really have a list lol}

To top of the strange slumber, I got to wake up and go to the dentist to get my permanent crown put on. So exciting!!!

Not.

It was quick and painless though. The only sucky thing is that my mouth has to adjust to this new foreign object in it. And my tongue won’t leave the crown alone because it’s all like “What’s this??? It’s all smooth and different and new and I must touch it constantly!!”. I swear, my tongue has a mind of it’s own.

Bella drinking some water and her sister Penny munching on some food pellets.

So last night, as TJ was feeding my guinea pigs for me, he saw Bella {the brown one drinking from the water bottle in the picture} being a lazy butt. I’ve never seen her drinking water while laying down but with her butt in the air!! It was too cute for me not to take a picture of it.

Bella again, drinking from a different water bottle this time.

Isn’t she so cute?!

For dinner last night we, once again, had Hot Roast Beef Sandwiches. Talk about some serious yumminess! Since I’ve showed you all a picture of it, I realized I should share the recipe.

This is a great way to use up any leftover beef, mashed potatoes, and gravy you may have, and it really is delicious!

I hope you all enjoy this simple recipe that I learned from my momma!

♥ and harp strings,
Kate

Have you had any strange dreams lately? Do you have any family recipes involving leftovers?

Hot Roast Beef Sandwiches                             [click to print]

Serves 4-5 (recipe passed down from my mom, Carol)

Ingredients

2 cups roast beef (or pretty much any type of leftover beef you have that is already cooked), chopped into bite-size pieces
2 cups gravy (if you don’t have leftover gravy, use brown gravy mix packets, or something similar)
2 cups mashed potatoes (instant mashed potatoes work great, as do the tubs of mashed potatoes)
4-5 slices of bread

 

Method

1. Cut up your beef.
2. If using gravy packets, follow the directions on the packet, then add the cut up beef. If not using gravy packets, just combine your gravy and beef in a saucepan and warm over medium heat until the gravy comes to a slight boil (or until everything is warmed).
3. Heat up the mashed potatoes (or follow directions if using non-leftover mashed potatoes).
4. Cut a slice of bread in half on the plate, arrange it with room for mashed potatoes in the middle of the slices.
5. Add some mashed potatoes to the plate, then top with the warm beef/gravy mix.
6. Add salt/pepper if desired.
7. Enjoy a super easy meal with leftovers!

Photo Walkthrough:

Cut up your beef.

If using gravy packets, follow the directions on the packet, then add the cut up beef. If not using gravy packets, just combine your gravy and beef in a saucepan and warm over medium heat until the gravy comes to a slight boil (or until everything is warmed).

Cut a slice of bread in half on the plate, arrange it with room for mashed potatoes in the middle of the slices. Add some mashed potatoes to the plate, then top with the warm beef/gravy mix. Add salt/pepper if desired.

Enjoy a super easy meal with leftovers!

2 responses to “Hot Roast Beef Sandwiches

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

