2011 Comes to a Close

I can hardly believe that today is the last day of 2011. This year has been a rollercoaster ride, full of lots of highs and lows. The lows have seemed to be worse this year than in the past, but because of those lows, this year has disappeared in the blink of an eye.

The major lows for me from this year have been the loss of my mother earlier this year, and my boyfriend moving to Northern Cali {7 hours away}.

My mom at our favorite desert getaway, La Casa del Zorro in Borrego Springs, CA.

The major highs for me from this year have been meeting some amazing new friends at school, finishing up my first ever semester of college with straight A’s, and of course, starting my blog!

My BFF, Jessicat, and I on my 22nd bday!

I am not usually one for “New Year’s Resolutions”, but this year I am actually making some. Unfortunately, I am going to be one of those people that has “join a gym/start working out” on my list, but I am in desperate need of it. This past year I’ve put on a lot of weight, which I think is partly due to me being depressed about my mom’s passing. Food has always been one of my loves, but my appetite has really grown this year and I find myself eating a lot more than I have in the past, a lot more than I know I should be. I’m by no means “fat” or “obese” but I’m getting a muffin top… and it needs to go away! I love me some muffins, but not when they stick above my pants!!!

Some of my other resolutions are to really keep up with my blog, especially with my Sweet Saturday/Savory Sunday/Musical Monday posts that I planned to do a few months ago.

I also wanted to spend today reflecting on this past year, and decided to share my Top 10 most visited posts from this year, so I hope you all enjoy them!

#10 on my list. This Creamy Peanut Butter Pie was baked back in August when Jennie, a fellow food blogger, lost her husband and father of her children. A bunch of people from the online food community came together and all baked pies in memory of her husband.

#9 on the list is my World of Warcraft backstory. I posted this back in August because I wanted to share with everyone how I got into WoW, where I meant the love of my life and boyfriend of 4 years, and what had taken up nearly 6 years of my life.

#8 on the list is my grandma’s Angel Food Cake Frosting. I baked these cakes back in May for Easter. I absolutely LOVE Angel Food Cake, but only with this frosting. Every year on my birthday my mom would bake me two of these cakes, one for the family, and one for me because I’m a piggy *snortsnort* :)

#7 on the list are the delicious Individual Gorgonzola Beef Wellingtons. I made these in August for my Dad for Father’s Day. These are so simple and are a real crowd pleaser. Plus, these are sure to make you look like you’re the best cook in the world if you serve these! ;)

#6 on the list is this sweet Mixed Berry Tart. I made this in late July for a family get together and everyone loved it to death. It is definitely a keeper recipe, and if you like berries, you should check it out!

#5 on the list is this quick and easy Southern Chicken and Dumplings. It has minimal ingredients, and feeds quite a few people. All you need is a crockpot and a few hours.

#4 on the list are my Mom’s Sugar Cookies that I baked this month for The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap. My mom and I made these cookies for a lot of holidays, and are a family tradition. I hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

#3 on the list are the Ultimate Vanilla Cupcakes I helped crown by Cupcake Project. The other 49 Cupcake Explorers and I went through three rounds before we found this recipe, but it was well worth it. These really are the ULTIMATE Vanilla cupcakes. :D

#2 on the list are these moist Copycat Sprinkles Red Velvet Cupcakes by Carrot Top Mom. I found her recipe back in January when I was looking for a Red Velvet Cupcake to bake for my mom’s 65th birthday. She was in the hospital, so I wanted something small and portable, and these were just the thing! I love them, and I know you will too!

And finally, #1 on the list is this amazing Bacon-Swiss BBQ Chicken crockpot recipe. Like the Chicken and Dumplings {from the same cookbook}, it has minimal ingredients, and is a wonderfully simple summer meal.

Well, that’s it everyone! Those are the Top 10 posts most visited on my blog since I started it back in April! If you want to visit the post and check it out, you can click on the picture.

I hope that you all have a wonderful and safe New Years Eve tonight. And don’t forget, please please please don’t drink and drive tonight! Stay safe, and call AAA if you need a ride, they will tow your car and give you a lift FOR FREE if you need it!!

Stay safe, and I will see you all in the new year!!

 

♥ and harp strings,
Kate

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

