Happy Birthday Momma :(

It’s been a while since I last blogged, and I was hoping when I got back to it this month, that it would be a happier blog post since my last one was sad because I found out my poor doggy is sick :( Unfortunately, this one isn’t going to be the happiest in the world, but I’m hoping these cookies will make up for it.

My family and I are still working through out “firsts” since the passing of my mom last February, and today happens to be another one of those firsts.

Mom at the Sioux Falls in South Dakota, 2008

Today, my momma should have been 66 years old.

I say should have, because it wasn’t fair how she left us, left me.

Mom and her children, Christmas 2010

She had been sick for probably around 8 or 9 years before she passed, and my family and I didn’t know until she was finally diagnosed a year before she passed with COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease).

My mom didn’t want us to know, because allowing us to know would be allowing herself to recognize that something was wrong, so she hid it from us. And now, because of this choice, my mother will never see me graduate from junior college with my Associates Degree in Music… or see me transfer to a 4 year university with a wonderful harp ensemble {just like she and I talked about while I was in high school}… or see me getting married and watch Daddy walk me down the aisle someday… or see me have my babies.

None of these things will ever happen, and I am so jealous of my older sisters because they were lucky enough to have mom there for their weddings and babies.
It’s just not fair.

Mom and I at The Peninsula Beverly Hills, 2007

Everyday I try to push forward, moving towards my current goals of finishing my credits at my junior college so I can transfer in Fall of 2013, all the while pretending everything is fine…

…and sometimes I actually believe it is.

But the truth is, it’s not. And it won’t be for a while.

Mom, Dad, and I in Borrego Springs, 2008

I miss my mom, and I miss the times that I have lost with her.

Sure, we never got out of our Mother-Daughter Fightallthefreakingtime Relationship, but that was going to change eventually.

But now I’ll never have that chance.

Mom and I at Mt. Rushmore, 2009

The only good thing about all of this is that although I’ve lost my mother, I have changed a lot from the person I was back in high school/right out of high school.

That person was an extremely lazy, un-motivated person who wanted nothing more than to wake up and play video games until it’s time to go to sleep.

Now, although I still struggle with that person {especially when I don’t have any hard commitments for the day}, I am now accomplishing things and moving forward for my life. And I have no idea when that would have happened if my mom getting sick wouldn’t have happened.

Because with my mom’s illness came time for me to finally become mature and grow up because my mom needed me to help take care of her because she couldn’t anymore. And now that she no longer needs me, I have to take care of myself and do what I need to do to move forward with my life.

Mom, Me, Grandma, and my oldest sister, 2008

*sighs*

So, the other day, I was absolutely starved for something sweet {I’ve been trying not to keep cookies in the house because they are my usual go-to snack, and when I eat them, I sit there and work on the whole dang pack, instead of a few}. That’s when I read Sweet Sugarbelle’s blog post about Easy Cake Mix Cookies.

She calls them the “easiest cookies you’ll ever make”, and boy was she right! They are so quick and simple, anyone can make them. And since they are quick, I was able to satisfy my sweet tooth craving in about 30 minutes :)

When I went to make these cookies though, I didn’t have any chocolate cake mix on hand. However, I did have some Funfetti Cake Mix! The recipe said “1 boxed cake mix”, so I figured it would work! And it did.

I planned on just sharing her recipe with you all so you could enjoy these fabulous cookies too, but since it’s my mom’s birthday, and since these cookies reminded me of birthday cookies {sprinkles and birthdays just seem to go hand in hand if you ask me}, I changed the recipe to be used specifically with a sprinkled cake mix!

I hope you all enjoy my {only slightly changed, and by slightly, I do mean slightly lol} adaptation of Sweet Sugarbelle’s recipe!

Oh yeah, and Happy Birthday Momma.

I miss you…

…and hope you’re having a good birthday in Heaven.

XOXO from your daughter who misses you with her whole heart and soul.

Mom at her favorite desert escape, La Casa del Zorro

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

Happy Birthday Sprinkle Cookies      [click to print]

Makes about 2 dozen cookies (adapted from the super easy, and delicious recipe by Sweet Sugarbelle)

Ingredients

1 box Pillsbury Funfetti Cake Mix {any cake mix with sprinkles should work, or you can use a vanilla cake mix and add your own sprinkles too!}
1/2 cup {1 stick} unsalted butter, softened
2 eggs
2 tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

 

Method

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Add all ingredients to a mixer bowl and combine well {or a regular bowl and use a hand mixer}.
3. Use a cookie scoop to scoop out the dough and drop it onto a Silpat lined cookie sheet {an ungreased cookie sheet works too} to make evenly sized dough portions.
4. Bake for 10-12 minutes {if cookies aren’t done after this, continue to bake, checking every 2 minutes or so}.
5. Let cool on the cookie sheet for at least 10 minutes.

Photo Walkthrough:

Everything you’ll need for thie recipe.

Add all ingredients to a mixer bowl and combine well {or a regular bowl and use a hand mixer}.

Use a cookie scoop to scoop out the dough and drop it onto a Silpat lined cookie sheet {an ungreased cookie sheet works too} to make evenly sized dough portions.

Bake for 10-12 minutes {if cookies aren’t done after this, continue to bake, checking every 2 minutes or so}. Let cool on the cookie sheet for at least 10 minutes.

2 responses to “Happy Birthday Momma :(

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

