Sweet Saturdays: Double Chocolate Brownies

Hey everyone! I know it’s really late on Saturday, and that it’s not even Saturday technically for some of you! But, as long as I get this post out sometime on Saturday, everything will be fine :P

My baking assistant, the lovely dog-dog!

I was really unsure as to what I wanted to bake for this post, which is why I didn’t actually get it baked until today… but that aside let’s talk about these delicious brownies I made! These were the very first homemade brownies I have made (as in, not from a box mix), and I am really proud of how they turned out! I may have overbaked them just a tad because when I put my cake tester in no crumbs were stuck to it, and the recipe said it should have a few, but I sampled a couple of them and they still tasted great!

These brownies I made to share with you all are from Martha Stewart’s “Cookies” cookbook. The only baked good I can recall trying by Martha Stewart are the Chocolate Crackles I used to make with my mom for Christmas, but I am really enjoying these brownies! They are dense but packed full of chocolate because of the semi-sweet chocolate and cocoa powder the recipe calls for. They are seriously the ultimate fudgy brownie, so if that’s your thing, then please give these a shot. You won’t be sorry!

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

Double Fudge Brownies                                      [click to print]

Makes 9 large or 16 small (recipe from Martha Stewart’s “Cookies” cookbook)

Ingredients

6 tbsp unsalted butter, plus more for pan
6 oz. semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Method

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a buttered 8-inch square baking pan with parchment, allowing a 2-inch overhang Butter lining (not overhang).

2. Put butter, chocolate, and cocoa powder in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water; stir until butter and chocolate have melted. Let cool slightly.

3. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Put sugar, eggs, and vanilla in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, and mix on medium speed until pale, about 4 minutes. Add chocolate mixture; mix until combined. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture; mix, scraping down sides of bowl, until well combined.

4. Pour batter into prepared pan; spread evenly with a spatula. Bake until a cake tester inserted into brownies (avoid center and edges) comes out with a few crumbs but is not wet, about 35 minutes. Let cool slightly in pan, about 15 minutes. Lift out; let cool completely on a wire rack before cutting into squares. Brownies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.

Photo Walkthrough:

Here’s everything you’ll need for this recipe, as well as the cookbook I got the recipe from :)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a buttered 8-inch square baking pan with parchment, allowing a 2-inch overhang Butter lining (not overhang).

Put butter, chocolate, and cocoa powder in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water; stir until butter and chocolate have melted. Let cool slightly.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl.

Put sugar, eggs, and vanilla in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, and mix on medium speed until pale, about 4 minutes.

Add chocolate mixture; mix until combined.

Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture; mix, scraping down sides of bowl, until well combined.

Pour batter into prepared pan; spread evenly with a spatula.

Bake until a cake tester inserted into brownies (avoid center and edges) comes out with a few crumbs but is not wet, about 35 minutes. Let cool slightly in pan, about 15 minutes. Lift out; let cool completely on a wire rack before cutting into squares.

Brownies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.

3 responses to “Sweet Saturdays: Double Chocolate Brownies

    • Thanks so much Sinead! They really are delicious, it’s taking all of my self control to not go and eat the whole batch right now :P And I love having the photo walkthrough, because so many times I’ve tried a new recipe and have had absolutely no idea if I’m doing things correctly or not, so I wanted people to have an idea of how it turned out for someone else (correct or not :P)

      <3 Kate

      Like

  1. Pingback: Savory Sundays #4: Citrus-Butter Shrimp Toss « Passion for Life·

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

