Sweet Saturdays: Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

This week has been a pretty good week for me. I met with the conductor of a local youth symphony (who also happens to be a professor at my college, that was a nice surprise!) Wednesday and then again today to discuss the symphony and if I could be a part of it. Turns out the symphony still has two concerts left for this season, both in June. The concerts are their Pop concerts where they are playing John Williams music! So today the conductor gave me the music for the theme from Schindler’s List and Jaws so I can look it over before rehearsal on Monday. I’m so thrilled for Monday, but also nervous, because I have don’t have any orchestra experience, and Monday is basically my audition for the symphony! But, on the plus side I get to sight read the piano part for Star Wars! The conductor was going to have it played on the keyboard because the score wants it to “synthesize” the harp, but I don’t care what I have to do, I am going to make it work on the harp because I’ll be damned if they do Star Wars and I can’t play in it!!!!!

Phew, alright. After all of that text I need a cookie. Would you like one? I sure hope so because these are delicious! I personally think there is nothing better than a fresh-from-the-oven, gooey chocolate chip cookie. When I was looking for a chocolate chip cookie recipe to try, I really wanted one that would be soft, and super chewy, because that makes the best gooey cookie if you ask me! So when I stumbled upon this recipe in Martha Stewart’s “Cookies” cookbook, I knew this was one I wanted to try and share with you all.

My dad was more than happy to be my taste tester, and noted that although these are really good, they didn’t live up to the chocolate chip cookies that my mom used to make. Unfortunately, my mom changed recipes a lot and I’m not sure which one is the one my dad really liked, let alone where to even start looking!

But for now, this is definitely a keeper recipe! And funnily enough, these cookies actually reminded me a lot of the big chocolate chip cookies that Mrs. Fields sells. I haven’t decided whether that’s a good thing or not, because when I think of Mrs. Fields I think of a commercial cookie, not something that was homemade… but that being said, these cookies certainly fulfill their title!

I sure hope you all enjoy this recipe for seriously soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies!

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

P.S. I seriously need to NOT procrastinate on making the recipe for this post, because I should be posting this much earlier on Saturday so you all can enjoy it, not at almost midnight… *sigh* At least I have a goal for next week, right? >_>

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies                                                               [click to print]

(Makes about 3 dozen (recipe from Martha Stewart’s “Cookies” cookbook)

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 12 oz. bag semisweet chocolate chips

Method

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Whisk together flour and baking soda in a bowl. Put butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Reduce speed to low. Add salt, vanilla, and eggs; mix until well blended, about 1 minute. Mix in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips.

2. Drop heaping tablespoons of dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper (or silpat mats), spacing 2 inches apart. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges turn golden but centers are still soft, 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool on sheets for 2 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks; let cool completely. Cookies can be stored between layers of parchment in airtight containers at room temperature up to 1 week.

Photo Walkthrough:

Here is everything you’ll need for this recipe. plus the cookbook the recipe is from!

Whisk together flour and baking soda in a bowl.

Put butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

Reduce speed to low. Add salt, vanilla, and eggs; mix until well blended, about 1 minute.

Mix in flour mixture.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop heaping tablespoons of dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper (or silpat mats), spacing 2 inches apart. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges turn golden but centers are still soft, 10 to 12 minutes.

Let cool on sheets for 2 minutes.

Transfer cookies to wire racks; let cool completely. Cookies can be stored between layers of parchment in airtight containers at room temperature up to 1 week.

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

