Savory Sundays: Greek Islands Steak Salad

Yesterday I told you guys how excited I was for tomorrow because it will be my first rehearsal with a local youth symphony, and I kinda jabbered on and on and on about that. So today I’ll try to talk about something else. :P

Last week I did a vlog showing all the awesome things that I ordered from Pampered Chef, but it was kinda long because I hadn’t done a vlog in a few days and wanted to catch you all up on everything! Well yesterday my dad and I kept going back and forth on what to make for dinner, and I told him it had to be something I hadn’t shared with you all yet because I am a procrastinator and hadn’t made anything for today’s post… >_> We finally decided on this super yummy steak salad, and I realized it was the perfect opportunity to use my new bamboo bowls I got in my Pampered Chef order!

**** Quick aside, if anyone is interested in ordering Pampered Chef, my sister sells it and I’m sure she would love to help you out! You can e-mail me (my e-mail is on my “About Me” page) and I’ll direct you to her :)****

The bowls are seriously so great, and I’m really glad I got them because my dad and I have been eating anything that requires a bowl out of these really really tiny cereal bowls that we have, and I was sick and tired of it! And with summer coming up these are great for holding a salad, or eating ice cream! You know, typical summer-y things, right? hehe

I really loved this salad though, and my dad loved how easy it was for him! He could sit out by the grill, talk on the phone, and drink a glass of wine while I did all the “hard” work (as he put it) in the kitchen preparing the salad.

In the recipe book I got it from it says “Chopped kalamata olives and pepperoncini peppers add depth and authenticity to this hearty salad’s dressing.” and it’s true. The pepperoncini’s added a nice acidity to the salad, but was balanced out by the olive oil in the dressing. My perfect bite of this salad included some steak, some salad, and some feta cheese! It was a really nice balance, and tasted so good!

So here’s another super yummy salad for you all to add to your summer recipe collection. I hope you enjoy it as much as my dad and I did!

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

Greek Islands Steak Salad                [click to print]

Serves 4 (recipe from Pampered Chef)

Steak Ingredients

1 1/2 lb beef flank steak
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp Greek/Mediterranean Rub

Dressing Ingredients

3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp Greek/Mediterranean Rub
1 large garlic clove, pressed/minced
2 tbsp pitted, chopped kalamata olives
2 tbsp chopped pepperoncini peppers

Salad Ingredients

6 cups fresh baby spinach leaves
1/2 cup diced seedless cucumber
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
Additional sliced pepperoncini peppers, kalamata olives, and cucumber (optional)

Method

1. Prepare grill for direct cooking over medium-high heat. For steak, brush steak with oil; sprinkle with rub and press into meat. Let stand until ready to grill.

2. For dressing, whisk together ingredients in a small bowl; set aside.

3. Grill steak, covered, 4 minutes or until grill marks appear. Turn and grill 4-6 minutes or until internal temperature registers 140°F for medium-rare or 150°F for medium doneness. Transfer steak from grill to cutting board; tent with foil and let stand 10 minutes (temperature will rise about 5°F). Slice steak across the grain into 1/4-in. slices.

4. For salad, toss spinach and cucumber with half of the dressing in a large bowl. You can also add extra sliced pepperoncini peppers, kalamata olives, and cucumber while tossing. To serve, divide salad among serving plates; arrange steak on top. Drizzle steak with remaining dressing. Top with feta cheese and additional peppers and olives, if desired.

Photo Walkthrough:

Everything you’ll need for this recipe (minus the garlic because I forgot it for the picture lol) and the recipe book it came from!

Prepare grill for direct cooking over medium-high heat. For steak, brush steak with oil; sprinkle with rub and press into meat. Let stand until ready to grill.

For dressing, whisk together ingredients in a small bowl; set aside.

Grill steak, covered, 4 minutes or until grill marks appear. Turn and grill 4-6 minutes or until internal temperature registers 140°F for medium-rare or 150°F for medium doneness.

Transfer steak from grill to cutting board; tent with foil and let stand 10 minutes (temperature will rise about 5°F). Slice steak across the grain into 1/4-in. slices.

For salad, toss spinach and cucumber with half of the dressing in a large bowl. You can also add extra sliced pepperoncini peppers, kalamata olives, and cucumber while tossing.

To serve, divide salad among serving plates; arrange steak on top. Drizzle steak with remaining dressing. Top with feta cheese and additional peppers and olives, if desired.

One response to “Savory Sundays: Greek Islands Steak Salad

  1. Pingback: Savory Sundays #5: Greek Islands Steak Salad « Passion for Life » Greek Recipes·

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

