Savory Sundays – My First Turkey!

So, I don’t know if you guys figured it out from the title or not, but I totally made my first turkey on Christmas Eve!

It wasn’t a big turkey, or even a whole turkey for that matter… just the breasts. But man that 4lb thing was juicy and delicious!

Even Arthas wanted to get in on the turkey action by trying to help himself to Mr. Envoy’s plate! :P

And I should apologize ahead of time, because I don’t really have a “formal” recipe for this one. I mean, well I guess I do but it’s not anything fantastic or anything lol

Also, my pictures could probably leave a little to be desired, but it was Christmas Eve and I was just so excited that my turkey even turned out that I only remembered to take pictures of my dinner plate with my cell phone. So go ahead, judge me.

Because I had some damn tasty turkey, so I don’t mind at all :P

I hope you guys enjoy this as much as Mr. Envoy and I did! And be kind when going through my recipe because not only was it my first ever turkey, I just kinda threw it together as I went along (also I didn’t have a turkey baster >_<).

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

Oven-Roasted Turkey Breast

[click to print]

(from Kate @ Heart and Harp Strings)

Ingredients

1 small turkey (4-6 lbs)
vegetable oil
salt
pepper
dried rosemary
1 package of stuffing
unsalted butter
celery
onion
chicken broth

Method

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Wash turkey thoroughly and pat dry with paper towels. Place in roaster (preferably one with a wire rack). Brush all over with vegetable oil, then season with salt, pepper, and dried rosemary. Pour enough chicken broth into the bottom of the roaster to cover the bottom. Once the oven is preheated, put in oven and start checking for doneness after about 1 1/2 hours (the turkey should be cooked somewhere between 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 hours). If the broth starts to cook off, add more to the bottom of the roaster.

2. While the turkey cooks, dice your celery and onion according to how much stuffing you want to make (look at the back of your stuffing mix for directions). Melt the amount of butter needed for your amount of stuffing in a sauce pan. Once it’s melted add the celery and onion and cook for 2-3 minutes. Then add the chicken broth and stuffing mix and stir. Once it’s combined, put it into a oven-safe casserole dish to bake once the turkey is out of the oven.

3. When the turkey is done cooking, take it out of the oven and put the stuffing into the oven. Let the turkey rest for about 30 minutes – long enough for the stuffing to cook.

4. Once the stuffing is done, carve your turkey and serve with mashed potatoes, gravy, and a veggie of your choosing!

Photo Walkthrough:

Everything you’ll need for this recipe.

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Wash turkey thoroughly and pat dry with paper towels. Place in roaster (preferably one with a wire rack). Brush all over with vegetable oil, then season with salt, pepper, and dried thyme. Pour enough chicken broth into the bottom of the roaster to cover the bottom. Once the oven is preheated, put in oven and start checking for doneness after about 1 1/2 hours (the turkey should be cooked somewhere between 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 hours). If the broth starts to cook off, add more to the bottom of the roaster.

2. While the turkey cooks, dice your celery and onion according to how much stuffing you want to make (look at the back of your stuffing mix for directions). Melt the amount of butter needed for your amount of stuffing in a sauce pan. Once it’s melted add the celery and onion and cook for 2-3 minutes. Then add the chicken broth and stuffing mix and stir. Once it’s combined, put it into a oven-safe casserole dish to bake once the turkey is out of the oven.

3. While the turkey cooks, dice your celery and onion according to how much stuffing you want to make (look at the back of your stuffing mix for directions). Melt the amount of butter needed for your amount of stuffing in a sauce pan. Once it’s melted add the celery and onion and cook for 2-3 minutes. Then add the chicken broth and stuffing mix and stir. Once it’s combined, put it into a oven-safe casserole dish to bake once the turkey is out of the oven.

4. Once the stuffing is done, carve your turkey and serve with mashed potatoes, gravy, and a veggie of your choosing!

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

