Saying Farewell… to Jessicat

I’m currently sitting in my mostly empty apartment, looking out my gorgeous sliding glass doors waiting for the severe thunderstorms to finally get here (the news said were coming some time tonight), and listening to my Enya radio station on Pandora. I’m hoping that somehow all of this will help me figure out how best to get started on this post. I don’t know why this one is harder to get into than my last post… I know it’s not that either one of them means more to me than the other. Maybe it’s just that my friendship with Jessicat stemmed from something deep inside me at a time when I was still very weak and sad.

My BFF, Jess, and I on my 22nd bday!

I first met Jessicat back in 2011 during our fall semester of school. I was 21 years old and had just lost my mom earlier that year. I remember how we met like it was yesterday – it was the first day of our Cultural Anthropology class and people that I could only assume were my classmates were sitting/standing outside of our classroom because the professor wasn’t there yet. I was looking for a spot that looked like I could squeeze into when I noticed a free space next to Jessicat. She looked really nice, so took a chance and started talking to her. I double checked with her that she was waiting for the same class I was, which thankfully she was. She was so shy, and she later told me how nervous I had made her because of how shy she was (although she’s not that shy anymore, maybe that was one of my effects on her?). Even though I’m fairly introverted I have my father’s love of talking, so I kept making her talk to me :P As she and I kept chatting the topic of my mom came up, which was when something amazing happened… the moment I knew she and I were destined to be best friends. She could empathize with me. Yes, empathize and not just sympathize. Her mom had nearly passed away that year too, and to top off not only sharing that experience, but we shared another too – her parents had her when they were in their 40s, as did mine. We both had older parents, and older siblings that were old enough to be our parents instead of our siblings! Although her parents had been previously married and then had her after finding each other and mine had been married the whole time, it didn’t matter. I’ve never once come across anyone that could relate to growing up like that.

Part of me wondered if my mom hadn’t had something to do with this. I’m not a religious person, but there are times that I wonder if she doesn’t still have some sort of influence on my life at times. I hadn’t had a seriously good friend since high school, and since I started dating my now ex-boyfriend 5 months after graduating high school I didn’t really pursue any new friendships. It was dumb, but it is what it is. However, when I got back into college I took the opportunity to meet people and try to make some friends other than my boyfriend, which is where Jessicat came in. I had a connection with her, unlike any I’ve had before.

So as the day got closer for Mr. Envoy and I to get on the road for New York, I knew I needed to spend as much time with her as I could. Even though she and I went to the same community college, she and I were both fairly busy. But each time we hung out we made the most of it! Like the time we went to the San Diego Zoo for a project for our Physical Anthropology class, and I asked Mr. Envoy to take a picture of the two of us in front of the jaguar exhibit and her cat clipboard photo-bombed the picture XD

Or when she always had the perfect memes for each moment.

Or even just random gifs that to do this day still crack me the hell up :P (Thanks random subreddit she found it on)

She is even the person that introduced me to coffee (does this mean I can blame you for my Starbucks gold card I earned 2 semester ago? I think yes!) and one of my favorite anime’s ever, Madoka Magica.

Jessicat was also the person that introduced me to sushi, and has been my sushi buddy ever since! So naturally, I had to get sushi with her at our favorite sushi place before we left, and decided to turn it into a double date with her boyfriend and Mr. Envoy. Although neither of them eat sushi, it was still fun for the two of us hehe

Next up was her 21st bday!! It was a quiet party at her place with her boyfriend, two other people, and Mr. Envoy and I. We played Apples to Apples, Cards Against Humanity (best game ever!), Mario Kart 8, had drinks, and a delicious homemade veggie lasagna that she made. Oh yeah, and it was originally supposed to be Pokemon themed, hence my shirt and her bday gift!

I’m so glad that her birthday party wasn’t the last time I got to see her though, because she was able to come to my going-away party the night before Mr. Envoy and I left.

Photo-bomb by Mr. Envoy, and I saw him on my camera hence the weird face I made XD

Jessicat, you’ve been there for me on so many different levels, from my highest highs to my lowest lows. You’ve taught me to try new things and keep an open mind, and most importantly you’ve taught me that this move to New York shouldn’t be scary but exciting instead! Three years full of new adventures and new things to experience, so I’m going to try to live it up and enjoy it all!

Just like I mentioned in my post about Harpcat, there is an air mattress here waiting for you too whenever you get a chance to get out here and visit (and I hope it’s sooner rather than later)! But if you want something bigger than a twin, you’ll have to wait until Mr. Envoy and I get our furniture so you can have the queen we’re using right now, because the one you gave me to take out here turned out to be a twin lol

I wish you all the best on your own adventure this Fall at your new 4 year school, I can’t wait to hear all about it. Just remember, this isn’t goodbye, just farewell for now. I love you hun, and I hope to see you soon! Even if it’s just on Skype ^_^

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

P.S. Be sure to check out her awesome charity, ColorfulPawsforaCause! For every cat sculpture you buy from her Etsy shop, she will donate $20 directly to an animal shelter to help save the lives of shelter pets.

2 responses to “Saying Farewell… to Jessicat

  1. Pingback: August Goals | Heart and Harp Strings·

  2. Pingback: Lessons Learned… Alcohol + Clumsiness = Concussions | Heart and Harp Strings·

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

