Day Two: Take Control of Your Title and Tagline

Today’s topic is about your blog’s title and tagline. As I mentioned in my post for day one of the Blogging 101 course, I’ve had my blog since April of 2011. Back when I first started my blog I called it ‘Passion for Life’. I named it that because I was passion-less back then. I was 21 years old and my mom had just passed away from COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease). I was lost, I was heartbroken, and I didn’t know how to deal with it all, so I started blogging. I hoped it would be a distraction from the pain of my real life and hoped that it would help me to express myself in a way I was failing to do in the real world.

As time passed though my interest in blogging came and went. I always wanted my blog to be successful but I was easily distracted. As I mentioned in my last post, things in my life were changing drastically and I gave them the attention while occasionally returning to my blog to apologize and write a post before disappearing again. It wasn’t the best way to build a following, so when I finally decided I wanted to take blogging more seriously and be more dedicated to it, I returned and gave my blog a makeover. New name, new web address (the domain is coming eventually, hopefully for my birthday in November!), new theme, and hew header… everything had to change. I even went back and edited some of my old posts to make sure the formatting didn’t look absurd in the new theme.

I struggled with picking out a new name for my blog though. What else could I possibly call it? My blog had turned into a personal blog about my life (I think those are called lifestyle blogs?), so I wondered what title could I give it that would generalize all of, well, me? Then it hit me. Heart and Harp Strings. It’s how I’ve always signed off on my blog posts and e-mails, so why not? I think it fits a blog about my life perfectly because when I say “<3 and harp strings” (or heart and harp strings as I say it in my head), I picture me playing the harp and sending love out with each note played to everyone who has read my post or e-mail. It’s my way of saying I love you, all of you, and I hope you continue being amazing!

Once I had come up with the title I just needed a tag line. I was stumped for a while. The title had been difficult enough, but a tagline? F*ck. I thought and I brainstormed and I was distracted by Facebook far too much but eventually I came up with it. Putting a little heart into my everyday life. Simple, short, sweet. It describes everything I want to do with this blog (beyond share the boring super thrilling kind of semi-exciting stories from my life). If I can’t put a little of my heart into everything I do each day then what’s the point? Everything I do should have a purpose, and I want to do each thing with love and grace (although the grace part still needs a lot of work…). If I can do those things then even the hardest parts of my life can be a little bit easier because I’ll have trained myself to look for the good in each situation, to look for the heart. If I can do that, I can do anything.

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

12 responses to “Day Two: Take Control of Your Title and Tagline

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

