Crisp Air and Fresh Starts (Day Eleven: Make a Prompt Personal)

“Changing colors, dropping temperatures, pumpkin spice lattes: do these mainstays of Fall fill your heart with warmth — or with dread?”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Autumn Leaves.”

Above is the prompt that I choose for day 11’s task of my Blogging 101 course. I know that this post is terribly late but I’m still working on that whole organization thing so please forgive me! I’ll give you a moment to think about it.

Is all forgiven? Yes? Excellent! You won’t be sorry, I promise! Now let’s get back to the task at hand, shall we?

The whole point of today’s task is to take a prompt and make it personal to you and your blog. If I was all science-y and stuff I would probably give you some awesome information about why the leaves change color because of the cold and how it somehow connects to people’s obsession with pumpkin spice lattes and sweaters… or something like that anyway. But I’m not science-y… I’m actually the opposite of science-y. I took a college level Biology course when I was in high school and barely pulled a C in it with the help of both of my parents, and a few semesters ago I attempted a basic Chemistry class at my college which didn’t end well either and made my brain hurt in ways I didn’t think possible. So if you had ever needed proof that I am not of the science-y orientation, well now you have it!

So since we have established that I am not in fact science-y in any way shape or form, I will adapt this post to what Autumn means to me personally. I do write a lifestyle blog after all, so this seems far more appropriate! ;)

Autumn is my favorite time of year with Winter being a close second. I don’t get to truly experience these seasons in southern California unless I take a trip into the mountains, but when I lived on Long Island I got to experience a real Autumn (and real Winter) and it reinforced my love for the season.

I love everything about Autumn. Everything. I love the cool, crisp air and the clothes you wear to not freeze to death in it. I love watching the leaves change color. I love the hearty home cooked meals that seem to only taste good during this time of year. I love the smell of fall baked goods that fill your home and waft out into the neighborhood making all of your neighbors jealous.

Yes, I’m the girl who lives for the cold weather and the chance to throw on a pair of boots with my favorite cozy sweater. I’m the girl who thinks it’s adorable when her husband (boyfriend at the time) picks out a sweater for her birthday based on the fact that it matches the color of her favorite wine in case she spills it.

And I’m also the girl who loves those stupid Pumpkin Spiced Lattes. Go ahead, judge away. Or you could just join me at Starbucks for one while we laugh at all the girls in their short skirts and UGG boots because it’s southern California and that’s what people do for some unknown reason. What? Don’t give me that look. I wear my UGG boots with jeans like any normal person. Geeze.

Although all the things I listed above are fantastic reasons to love this season, there’s more to it than just that; to me Autumn is everything that is good in the world. For me it’s a chance for a fresh start at life; a time for rejuvenation. I know it sounds silly because Autumn is when leaves die and fall to the ground and most people just want to burrow away until it’s warm and sunny again. Think about it though, just for a moment.

If you’re a student, like I am, then Autumn marks the start of a new semester and school year. A new semester is another opportunity to try new things or to make up for past mistakes or bad grades. Sometimes it’s even a completely fresh start at a brand new school where no one knows you yet. They don’t know that once you’re home for the day the chances of getting you back out of the house again is slim to none, or that you’re the world’s biggest procrastinator, or even that there are things in your life you’re battling against and working to make better… and you know what’s great? They don’t have to. You have a chance to be someone new, to be a better you.

download (1)

There’s something about the prospect of a fresh start mixed with that crisp air that brings me to life. In the Summer my body tends to shut down because it’s too hot or it’s too humid, or worse yet, it’s too hot and it’s too humid. Yuck! But in the Fall I don’t have to worry about overheating or getting all gross and sweaty. I can wear comfy clothes and feel the cool air on my face and feel absolutely alive, for the first time all year.

Autumn is right around the corner and I can’t wait for it. Even if I have to stare at palm trees all season instead of seeing the leaves change color because I’m stuck in Palm Tree Land for the next 3 years (Did I mention that I really loved it on Long Island and actually having real seasons? Because I did and I miss it…).

Here’s to the hope that this Autumn is filled with everything that my heart is longing for: opportunity, healing, and too many Pumpkin Spice Lattes. Oh, and boots. Lots and lots of boots.

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

7 responses to “Crisp Air and Fresh Starts (Day Eleven: Make a Prompt Personal)

  1. I have to say, your post put me in the mood to be longing to wear my skinny jeans and sweaters and toasty scarfs and boots–but I will say this. I’ve got a lot of boots and the most uncomfortable ones are my Tory Burch boots–they took over two years to break in. I’m also looking forward to some decent hair weather too! I’m tired of my halo of frizz! Thank you for a lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t have as many boots as I would like because they’re expensive and well, you don’t need them too often where I live lol You have a good point about this being good hair weather though, I have bangs so this is yet another reason to adore the Fall! No more sweaty hair plastered to my face! :P

      Thanks for reading, Catherine! :)

      Like

  2. Autumn and Winter are also my favorite seasons. I feel autumn is very romantic and winter is very spiritual. Here in India it’s too hot for most of the year so Autumn and Winter bring a fresh breeze of year and relief from mosquitoes, insects and sweat.

    I loved reading this post. Pictures are superb. Did you take them?

    Have a great day ahead,

    Anand <3

    Like

  3. What a beautiful post, Kate! Fall is my favorite season and I am so sad I will be missing it this year, but I do still have the chance of becoming a stronger version of myself. I am so happy I read this post. Although I will be missing the leaves changing, the cool crisp air wafting through the windows, and the feelgood meals my mum makes in Fall, I will be experiencing a completely new culture. I will have the chance to improve my language and interpersonal skills while having fun. Thank you for this awesome view.

    all the best,
    the (esc)ape artist

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Esc! I could really do with some Fall weather right about now… it was 100F at my college on Friday and has been 90F at home and I’m ~3 miles from the beach! Ugh. Where’s my autumn leaves and crisp cool air?! I’m ready for my PSL and boots. Please southern California, grant my wish! :(

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

