I Write Because… (Writing 101, Day 1)

Hi there! *waves* Last month I participated in Blogging University’s Blogging 101 course and not only did I learn a lot and have a lot of fun, but I made some awesome new blogging friends too! When the course came to a close though I found myself wanting to continue on with something to help keep me posting once school started up so I signed up for two courses: Writing 101 and Blogging 201.

Call me crazy but I thought it would be fun to try out their new Writing 101 course while also continuing on with my Blogging education by taking Blogging 201. Thankfully Blogging 201 is only a 2 week course, but between these two courses and my school schedule I’m sure I’ll be plenty busy :P

Today is the first day of the Writing 101 course and the prompt for today is “Why do you write?”. For me writing is an outlet, a way to get thoughts and ideas out of my head so I can make room for other things. It’s also a way for me to express myself.

“Any writer worth his salt writes to please himself…It’s a self-exploratory operation that is endless. An exorcism of not necessarily his demon, but of his divine discontent.” – Harper Lee

This prompt makes me think back to my first post of Blogging 101 last month, Re-Introduce Yourself to the World. I don’t write outside of my blog, with the exception of school papers and the excessively long Facebook post/comment(s), so for me writing and blogging are one and the same.

“Writing is my way of expressing – and thereby eliminating – all the various ways we can be wrong-headed.” – Zadie Smith

This blog came to be just two short months after the death of my mom back in 2011. I didn’t know how to deal with it all so I decided to start a blog. I thought it was something my mom would have liked since I was primarily sharing recipes I had tried and sharing moments in my life. Now four years later my blog and I have done quite a bit of growing up but we’re still here and I’d like to think it’s something my mom would be following along with still. Who knows, maybe she is somehow. I will admit to being unmotivated at times when it came to writing and posting. I’ve taken breaks from it all for far longer than I would have liked, but hey, that’s life sometimes right? At least that’s what I’m telling myself anyways.

“I don’t know why I started writing. I don’t know why anybody does it. Maybe they’re bored, or failures at something else.” – Cormac McCarthy

I don’t have any grand plans for my writing or for my blog. I don’t expect it to get me any sort of literary award or to lead me to fame. If I were doing it for those things then I’d be leading a very sad life.

So, why do I write?
I write because it’s fun.
I write because it’s a stress release.
But mostly I write to make sense of my life.

Why do you write?

<3 and harp strings,
Kate

5 responses to “I Write Because… (Writing 101, Day 1)

    • Thank you! Sometimes writing can cause stress for me, but that’s only if I’m writing a school paper or if I get behind on my blogging. I think that as long as I keep reminding myself to have fun and relax about it I won’t be as stressed. At least that’s the hope anyways :P

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes. I actually felt the same way now because I am PR writer and sometimes the articles that I need to write are just so hard to ‘digest’. But I really want to believe that writing is a talent that we must enjoy. So write on! :)

        Like

Tell me what you think! I'd love to know =)

